Tuesday, 4 November 2014

Maison Kitsuné - Sweet 16, introduction and review

French music and fashion label Maison Kitsuné have long been pioneers of the kind of music you'd find playing in hipster clothes stores and and swanky coffee shops. Their blend of easy listening electronica (or as I like to call it, hiptronica) and indie rock mixed with their knack of finding cool new artists months before they break onto the scene has ensured them as one of my favourite labels. With the release of their 16th compilation album, titled The Sweet 16 Issue, Maison Kitsuné have produced the latest batch of music's cool, new somethings. The album also has some awesome artwork, featuring caricatures of each artist on the album. 

1. Buscabulla - Sono
Buscabulla is a Puerto Rican band currently based in Brooklyn. Fresh from releasing their debut E.P Kitsuné a few weeks ago which was named by New York publication 'The Deli' as their EP of the month. 'Sono' is a very 1960's dream pop/salsa hybrid that obviously stems from the band's Spanish roots.

2. Fakear - Interstellar
An up and coming trip hop/electronic artist based in France. 'Interstellar' is a trip hop track with a dreamy twist to it, like Phantogram mixed with Depth Affect. 

3. Margot - No One's Gonna Miss You
Margot is an American classically trained violinist, who released a solo EP earlier this year. This is an pretty sultry sounding pop song, the producer of which also worked on Beyonce's self titled 2013 album.

4. We Are Shining - Hot Love
UK's We Are Shining, who's debut album KARA dropped in October, have been gathering  lot of pace in 2014, having already been in the studio with Kanye West and produced a track with Mercury Award nominated FKA Twigs. 'Hot Love' is a cool pop song that deserves to be on the radio.

5. Danglo - Forget You Forget You Forget You Forget You
Up and coming DJ from the UK, who's debut E.P was released in July. This track has a very bass tinged with house kind of feel to it.

6. Frances - Fire May Save You (Cesare remix)

Yet another UK based artist, Frances released her EP Fire May Save You not long back and coincided it with a tour of the UK and Europe. The original track is decent enough but the remix gives it added punch and is probably one of this compilations stand out tracks.

7. Logo - Kingda Ka
French electronic duo Logo provide one of this album's many housey moments.

8. Croquet Club - Jacuzzi
Electronic artist currently based in London. 'Jacuzzi' is a pretty solid trance track.

9. Citizens! - Lighten Up (Tobtok Remix)
UK based Citizens! have long been collaborators with Kitsuné and have amassed quite a fanbase. Tobtok's remix of their track 'Lighten Up' is a throwback to the new wave revival back in the mid-noughties. It's also one of two Tobtok inclusions on this compilation.

10. Davidian - Could Never feat. Eli & Fur) [Radio Edit]
I've long been a fan of fellow Nottingham-er Davidian, real name David Whitfield, and I'm thrilled to bits he's made it onto a Kitsuné compilation. 'Could Never' is a solid house track that deserves to be played in clubs.

11. Sego - 20 Years Tall
Utah duo Sego list their genres as 'alternative, axiomatic triangle and slacker punk' so make of that what you will. '20 Years Tall' is an uptempo indie disco song with some serious summertime vibes.

12. JAWS - Think Too Much, Feel Too Little
Birmingham's JAWS already have that air of a band that will become something special. With a debut album on the way and a UK tour to come. 'Think Too Much, Feel Too Little' is a nice 1975/Peace-esque indie rock track.

13. Nimmo and the Gauntletts - Others
London based band currently embarking on a tour of the UK and Europe. 'Others' is probably the best track on this album, could easily fit right in on any mainstream radio playlist. 

14. Kwamie Liv - 5 Am
Denmark's Kwamie Liv has been making quite a name for herself over Europe. This track is slow, soulful and very brooding.

15. Christian Rich - Real Love (feat. Angela McCluskey)
Christian Rich is an American DJ duo made up of twins Taiwo and Kehinde Hassan. They're already making a name for themselves having worked with artists such as Drake, Jay Z, and Chris Brown. 'Real Love' is a cool disco track with a chill out vibe to it.

16. Tobtok - Deux
Sweden's Tobtok follows in the long line of many Swedish artist in successfully creating catchy, poppy dance tracks. 'Deux' is a funky, disco dance tune and is also a stand out moment on this album.

No comments:

Post a Comment